Last updated:
Part of the Pickleball in Japan English guide. We checked every facility’s official site again on August 21, 2026 — sources are linked at the end.
Yes, you can build a Japan trip around pickleball. Courts have opened at resorts and hotels from Hokkaido to Okinawa over the past two years, and most of them lend paddles and balls, so you can play without packing gear. We went through 23 stay-and-play properties one by one: only three keep the courts for overnight guests, and the rest let you book as a visitor. Here is the short list, how booking actually works, the full table, and the practical details.
The short list
- Biggest court complex: Izu Resort Villa (Higashiizu, Shizuoka) — 20 outdoor courts, the largest count in the country, opened July 20, 2026. ¥2,200 per court per hour, 8:00–17:00, with paddles and shoes lent free at the front desk.
- Best all-round: NEMU Resort (Ise-Shima, near the famous shrine) — 10 courts, open year-round, ¥1,100 per person per hour, paddle and ball included.
- Best in Hokkaido: Rusutsu Resort — 8 dedicated outdoor courts certified by the Japan Pickleball Association, ¥3,000 per court per hour, paddle and ball hire ¥350. Seasonal: late April to October 25.
- The trophy stay: Halekulani Okinawa — ¥5,100 per court per hour with paddles, balls, shoes, towels and water included. Hotel guests only.
- Newest: Grand Mercure Yatsugatake (Yamanashi) opened 6 outdoor courts on August 10, 2026 (guests only, gear free from lockers by the front desk, no reservation needed), and Hotel Agora Regency Osaka Sakai has 6 rooftop courts run as Pickleball Base Osaka since April 2026 (open to everyone, ¥2,500 per court per hour).
- Cheapest court: Renaissance Tanagura (Fukushima) — indoor, ¥1,100 per court per hour with 4 paddles and balls included. A long-standing sports-camp hotel.
- In Tokyo: Hilton Tokyo (Shinjuku) runs an outdoor court from 7:00 to 21:00 with separate guest and visitor rates, plus a ¥4,000 drop-in style open play (90 min).
The four headline picks, with the court price and what the gear fee covers.
Izu Resort Villa
- Fee
- ¥2,200 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddles and shoes free
- Surveyed
- August 21, 2026
NEMU Resort
- Access
- Kashikojima Stn, 42 min
- Fee
- ¥1,100 / person / hour
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Paddle and ball included
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Rusutsu Resort
- Fee
- ¥3,000 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddle & ball hire ¥350
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Halekulani Okinawa
- Access
- Naha Airport, 75 min by car
- Fee
- ¥5,100 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Full gear included
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Booking, in practice
The court price is rarely what stops a visiting player. Getting a slot is. We recorded how each of the 23 properties takes bookings, and they fall into three groups.
- Online or in-app (8 properties): Tokyu Resort Town Hamanako, Lotte Arai Resort, Seagaia, Halekulani Okinawa, PICA PICKLE FUJISAIKO, KIKUYA GROUP, Nagasaki Stadium City (its own app) and Pickleball Base Osaka (via LINE). These are the easiest to lock in before you fly.
- Phone or front desk only (13 properties): including NEMU Resort, Renaissance Tanagura, Hilton Tokyo, Hilton Odawara, Rusutsu, Appi, Izu Resort Villa and Asarigawa Onsen Hotel. Several of these take phone bookings in Japanese only, which is where a hotel concierge earns their keep.
- Walk up, no booking (2 properties): Grand Mercure Yatsugatake, where courts run first-come from lockers by the front desk, and Kussharo Prince Hotel, whose site states plainly that advance booking is not available. Both are guests-only.
Read across those groups and one thing stands out: every property that admits visitors takes a reservation. There is no walk-up public court on this list. Japan runs on booked slots, so a Japan pickleball trip is planned the way a tee time is, not the way a neighbourhood court is.
That also answers a question we get often — whether an organised pickleball tour is necessary. It is not. Every property here can be booked directly, eight of them without speaking to anyone, and the courts are attached to hotels you would book anyway. What a tour buys is the phone call in Japanese, and a concierge does that for the price of asking.
One phrase saves time at a front desk or in a search box: pickleball is ピックルボール in Japanese. Typing it into a hotel’s own site finds the court page even when the English pages do not mention it.
Three properties that take visitors without an overnight stay and publish a booking page.
Pickleball Base Osaka (Hotel Agora Regency Osaka Sakai)
- Fee
- ¥2,500 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Rental available (paid)
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
Tokyu Resort Town Hamanako
- Fee
- ¥2,200 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddle and ball included
- Surveyed
- August 20, 2026
Nagasaki Stadium City
Operator-verified
- Fee
- From ¥500 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Rental available (paid)
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
All 23 properties
“Visitors” means whether you can play without staying overnight, based on what each official site states. Where the site says nothing either way, we marked it “not stated” — a phone call (or asking your hotel concierge) settles it.
| Property (region) | Visitors | Court price | Courts |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rusutsu Resort (Hokkaido) | Not stated | ¥3,000/hr | 8 outdoor, Apr–Oct |
| Asarigawa Onsen Hotel (Otaru) | Yes | ¥3,000/hr | ask |
| Kussharo Prince Hotel (Hokkaido) | Guests only | racket hire ¥500 | tennis courts, Apr–Oct |
| Appi Racket Club (Iwate) | Yes | ¥3,500/hr weekday, ¥4,000 weekends & Jul 25–Aug 23 | outdoor, Jun 15–Nov 3 |
| Renaissance Tanagura (Fukushima) | Yes | ¥1,100/hr | indoor |
| Kamenoi Hotel Kitsuregawa (Tochigi) | Not stated | from ¥1,500/hr | 2 |
| Koyaru Sawa Lodge (Chiba) | Not stated | ¥8,800/hr incl. gear | on site |
| Hilton Tokyo (Shinjuku) | Yes (two-tier) | from ¥5,000/hr | outdoor, 7:00–21:00 |
| Hilton Odawara (Kanagawa) | Yes (two-tier) | from ¥2,400/hr | indoor arena |
| PICA Fujiyama (Yamanashi) | Not stated | ¥5,000/slot | all-weather |
| PICA PICKLE FUJISAIKO (Yamanashi) | Yes (day use) | ¥5,000/slot | indoor |
| KIKUYA GROUP Tennis Court (Lake Yamanaka) | Yes | ¥5,000/2hr incl. gear | 4 outdoor |
| Tokyu Resort Town Tateshina (Nagano) | Not stated | ¥4,000/hr | outdoor, Apr–Dec |
| Grand Mercure Yatsugatake (Yamanashi) | Guests only | included in stay | 6 outdoor, new |
| Izu Resort Villa (Higashiizu, Shizuoka) | Not stated | ¥2,200/hr | 20 outdoor, 8:00–17:00 |
| Tokyu Resort Town Hamanako (Shizuoka) | Yes | ¥2,200/hr | 4 |
| NEMU Resort (Ise-Shima, Mie) | Not stated | ¥1,100/person/hr | 10, year-round |
| Pickleball Base Osaka (Hotel Agora Regency Osaka Sakai) | Yes | ¥2,500/hr | 6 rooftop, 8:00–22:00 |
| Vessel Oochi (Kagawa) | Yes | guests free / visitors ¥1,000 | 2-hour slots |
| Nagasaki Stadium City | Yes | weekdays ¥500/hr, weekends ¥1,500 | 5 outdoor |
| Seagaia (Miyazaki) | Yes | ¥2,200/hr | 4 indoor, closed Mon |
| Halekulani Okinawa | Guests only | ¥5,100/hr | lined tennis courts |
| Lotte Arai Resort (Niigata) | Yes | ¥4,000 day pass (13+) | ask |
Prices are per court per hour unless noted. As a rough guide, ¥1,000 is about US$7 (August 2026). Two prices carry caveats: Asarigawa’s discounts date from a 2024 notice, and Kitsuregawa’s rates are labelled “campaign pricing” with no end date — a phone call confirms both when you book. Three others are dated or indirect: Pickleball Base Osaka’s ¥2,500 is an introductory rate, Lotte Arai’s ¥4,000 covers a multi-activity day pass listed for the August 17 to November 29, 2026 season, and Tokyu Resort Town Hamanako’s ¥2,200 appears on its booking plan rather than on the main site.
Photos and current prices for the rest of the list, grouped by region.
Hokkaido and Tohoku
Asarigawa Onsen Hotel
- Access
- Otaru-Chikko Stn, 15 min by bus
- Fee
- ¥3,000 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddle and ball included
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Kussharo Prince Hotel
- Fee
- Racket with ball, ¥500 hire
- Rental
- Racket and ball hire only
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Appi Racket Club
Operator-verified
- Access
- Appi-Kogen Stn, resort shuttle
- Fee
- ¥2,500 weekday / ¥3,000 weekend
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddle, ball and shoes for hire
- Surveyed
- August 21, 2026
Kanto
Kamenoi Hotel Kitsuregawa
- Access
- Ujiie Stn, free shuttle 20 min
- Fee
- From ¥1,500 / court / hour, gear included
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Paddle and ball included
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
Koyaru Sawa Lodge
- Access
- Yachimata Stn (57 min from Tokyo)
- Fee
- ¥8,800 / court / 60 min, gear included
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Paddle and ball included
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
Mount Fuji, Nagano and Niigata
PICA Fujiyama
- Fee
- ¥5,000 / 60 min (up to 8 players)
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- 4 paddles and 2 balls included; shoes ¥300
- Surveyed
- July 3, 2026
PICA PICKLE FUJISAIKO
- Access
- Kawaguchiko Stn, bus to Saiko Minshuku
- Fee
- ¥5,000 / court / 60 min
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- 4 paddles and 2 balls included
- Surveyed
- July 6, 2026
Tokyu Resort Town Tateshina
- Access
- Chino Stn, free resort shuttle
- Fee
- ¥4,000 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- 4 rackets and balls free
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Grand Mercure Yatsugatake Resort & Spa
- Rental
- Paddles and balls at the front desk
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Lotte Arai Resort
- Fee
- Plaza Area Pass ¥4,000 (age 13+), all day
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Shoe hire ¥500
- Surveyed
- July 3, 2026
Western Japan
Vessel Oochi
- Fee
- Guests free / visitors ¥1,000 (2 hours)
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Rental available
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
Seagaia Tennis Academy
- Fee
- ¥2,200 / court / hour
- Type
- Pickleball available
- Rental
- Rackets and balls ¥1,100; shoes ¥550
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
Planning notes for visiting players
Seasons matter. The mountain and Hokkaido courts are seasonal: Rusutsu closes October 25, Kussharo October 31, Tateshina in early December. For winter trips the reliable picks are the indoor courts (Renaissance Tanagura, PICA PICKLE FUJISAIKO, Hilton Odawara, Seagaia) and NEMU Resort, which runs year-round.
Gear is mostly covered, shoes less so. Nearly every property lends paddles and balls, and at many (Kikuya, Tanagura, PICA, Halekulani) they are included in the court price. Court shoes are the gap: only three properties on this list lend or rent them — Izu Resort Villa (free), Halekulani Okinawa (included) and PICA Fujiyama (¥300). For the indoor venues, non-marking shoes that have not been worn outside are the one item worth packing.
Booking often runs in Japanese. International hotel brands (Hilton, Halekulani, Grand Mercure, Lotte) handle English at the front desk. At the domestic resorts, booking pages are Japanese-only but work fine with your browser’s translate function, and phone bookings can usually be handled by your hotel concierge.
For city sessions and tournaments during your trip, see the English session calendar — some sessions accept sign-ups in English. Court-by-court profiles are in the Tokyo guide, Osaka guide and Kyoto guide.
Year-round and gear-included options, useful when the mountain courts are closed.
Hilton Tokyo
- Access
- Nishi-Shinjuku Stn, 2 min
- Fee
- From ¥5,000 / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Paddles in open play
- Surveyed
- July 31, 2026
Hilton Odawara Resort & Spa
- Access
- Free shuttle from Nebukawa
- Fee
- From ¥2,400 / hour
- Type
- Indoor court
- Rental
- Rental available (paid)
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
Renaissance Tanagura
- Access
- Iwaki-Tanagura Stn, taxi 5 min
- Fee
- ¥1,100 / court / hour
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- 4 paddles + balls incl.
- Surveyed
- August 18, 2026
KIKUYA GROUP Tennis Court (Lake Yamanaka)
- Access
- By car; parking on site
- Fee
- ¥5,000 / court / 2 hours
- Type
- Court
- Rental
- Full gear set included
- Surveyed
- August 19, 2026
FAQ
Can I play without staying at the hotel?
At 20 of the 23 properties, yes or probably — only Halekulani Okinawa, Grand Mercure Yatsugatake and Kussharo Prince state guests-only. Properties marked “not stated” have no explicit restriction; a phone call confirms it.
What is the cheapest court?
Renaissance Tanagura: ¥1,100 per court per hour, indoors, gear included. In a city, Nagasaki Stadium City’s ¥500 weekday hour is the outlier.
Where are the most courts in one place?
Izu Resort Villa in Higashiizu, Shizuoka, with 20 outdoor courts — the largest count in Japan, opened in July 2026. NEMU Resort is next with 10.
Can I just turn up and play?
Only at Grand Mercure Yatsugatake and Kussharo Prince, and both are for overnight guests. Every property on this list that admits visitors takes a reservation, so a slot booked a day or two ahead is the norm.
Do I need to join an organised pickleball tour?
No. All 23 properties book directly, and eight take bookings online or through an app without a phone call. A tour mainly handles the Japanese-language booking, which a hotel concierge will also do.
Can I play in winter?
Indoors, yes (Tanagura, FUJISAIKO, Hilton Odawara, Seagaia). Outdoors, NEMU Resort runs year-round; the mountain courts close between late October and early December.
Sources and verification
Every fact above comes from each property’s official website or official announcements, checked individually and re-checked on August 21, 2026. Prices, seasons and booking rules change; the official site or a phone call is the final word. A card marked Operator-verified means the facility’s own staff have reviewed what we publish about them; the rest were compiled by our editors from official sources. Official sites: Rusutsu, NEMU, Izu Resort Villa, Halekulani Okinawa, Hilton Tokyo, Hilton Odawara, Grand Mercure Yatsugatake, Nagasaki Stadium City, Kikuya, Renaissance Tanagura, Seagaia, Pickleball Base Osaka.
